Federation Masthead
 

Home

The Federation

Documents

Publications

Federation Events

Societies Events

Register of Speakers

Links

Sitemap





Valid HTML 4.01 Transitional





Report of the Annual General Meeting - 23 November 2013

By Pat Devlin

The Venue

The Hill of the O'NeillsThe AGM was held in the Parish Hall of St Peter's and St James's Church of Ireland Church on the Antrim Road near the Limestone Road. The church was officially opened at 29th June (St Peter’s Day), 1900. Beautifully constructed and furnished to a high standard, it was described as “a slice of a cathedral”. It is built of Scrabo sandstone, designed originally by Samuel Close and later extended by his son Richard Close. It’s architectural style is late Victorian Gothic Revival.

There will be a fuller report later. In the meantime here are some photographs.



Chairman Roddy Hegarty opens the AGM Secretary Bridgeen Rutherford presents her Report
Anne Breen, Jennifer Cuningham, Helen Meehan, Áine Ní Dhuibhne and Maud Hamill Johnny Dooher talks about the People and Places Project
John Hulme reports on the FULS/FLHS Joint Committee and the Hidden Gems Project Helen Rankin pays tribute to the late Doreen Corcoran
Maud Hamill speaks about the Abbey Historical Society activities Jennifer Cunningham on the activities of the Coleraine Historical Society
Larry Breen gives his perspective on FULS/FLHS liaison Joan Crooks, NIPR, launches the 2013 edition of Due North
Subject of Jane Crook's address on NIPR John Gray's address on the origins and history of Belfast Castle
Roddy Hegarty, Maud Hamill, Larry and Anne Breen, Bridie Bradley, John Hulme, Bridgeen Rutherford and Johnny Dooher